Skip to content

Protest Purikura: the fight for justice and glitter

May 20, 2010

Check out Rio’s page here for our adventures in hybrid protest purikura: the fight for justice and glitter. A much-needed creative release of steam. (I think I just mixed metaphors or sayings…I blame my father and his play with language 🙂

You know, I will never understand why no one has any problem studying brown people as exotic animals through Anthropology and Archeology….and Ethnic Studies is under attack…What are you afraid of? Knowing one’s own history is necessary. Colonized peoples speaking for themselves is invaluable. Oh history. Oh the untold versions of the story. Oh pseudo post racial society. Oh “color blindness” as excuse to ignore what makes you uncomfortable about the complex world we live in. Like Angry Asian Man says here “Ethnic Studies are American Studies.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana Estigarribia permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:58 am

    I love these photos! And I totally agree: we absolutely need to stress to all Americans that the basis for our society is diversity.

  2. mayachinchilla permalink*
    June 17, 2010 3:40 pm

    thanks for the support Diana!

Leave a comment