Skip to content

I got selected as a LAMBDA literary fellow

April 8, 2015

Help me get to the Lambda Literary retreat for emerging LGBTQ Writers!


I have the incredible honor of being selected as a Literary Fellow to work with Cherrie Moraga as part of Lambda’s Summer Writing Retreat for Emerging LGBTQ Voices. This will be my first opportunity to develop my playwriting in a professional and intensive setting.

As many of you know I published my first book of poems and stories “The Cha Cha Files: A Chapina Poética” last year and have been teaching part time and seeking new job prospects while touring my book. Teaching is incredibly rewarding but in order to take my work to the next level, I need to take advantage of this opportunity to spend focused time with gifted master writers. The space and time to write in a dedicated community of writers is a precious gift and necessary investment in the work I want to keep producing.

I was awarded a partial scholarship but I cannot go to this retreat without your support. I am looking to raise $850 for tuition, room, board and travel.

THANK YOU I made my first goal to pay for my tuition room and board! *To help get me there click here:
http://www.gofundme.com/mayalambda

Now, as they say, making a donation is easy and safe – simply click here
http://www.gofundme.com/mayalambda and choose a perk or simply donate any amount.

Thank you for supporting my work over the years and for taking the time to help me on my next challenge. As Walter Mercado says, “paz, dinero y mucho, mucho amor.”

With lots and lots of love,

Maya

No comments yet

Leave a comment